Experience meets fresh enthusiasm in the Rio Olympics teams

By Carla Passino on |


William Fox Pitt and Chilli Morning in 2015

The British Olympic Association has named the 12 riders that will represent Britain at the Rio Olympics.


Having recovered from the horrific accident he suffered at Le Lion d’Angers last October, three-time Olympic medallist William Fox-Pitt makes a welcome return on the eventing team with Chilli Morning. His team-mates will be Kitty King on Ceylor L A N, Izzy Taylor on Allercombe Ellie and Gemma Tattersall on Chico Bella P or Quicklook V.


The dressage team sees a combination of experience and fresh enthusiasm, with 2015 European team silver medallist Fiona Bigwood and Spencer Wilton making their Olympic Games debut alongside reigning World, European and Olympic Champion Charlotte Dujardin and Olympic team gold medallist Carl Hester. Bigwood will ride Atterupgaards Orthilia, Wilton Supernova, Hester Nip Tuck and Dujardin Valegro.


The exclusion of Scott Brash from the long list doesn’t mean the Rio team lacks experience. London 2012 gold medallists Nick Skelton and Ben Maher return to the team (with Big Star and Tic Tac respectively) and are joined by Los Angeles 1984 team-silver medallist John Whitaker, at his sixth Olympic Games, and his younger brother Michael, who also won silver in 1984 and is at his fifth Olympics. The Whitakers will ride Ornellaia and Cassionato respectively.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>